Posted by: raddestnerd | July 7, 2008

Look Up 17

WOW #1 Saturday, I was thinking: Gee I remember these pack of tiny Bible memory-verse cards I used to have back in the day. I want to put those to use again. And wouldn’t it be great if I could get some for the kids at my church, too?

Sunday rolls around. We can’t locate the AC power cord for the keyboard. I start looking everywhere — places I’ve never searched before. And that’s when I find it — a bunch of those Bible memory-verse cards! One of the band members had arrived a little late that day and that AC power cord had been in his possession. So, we were able to have the keyboard for the morning service like usual, and God led me to find those cards he had stashed there in anticipation of my prayer.

WOW #2 (It Gets Better) Today, I’m getting together my notes for Friday Night Bible Study. And I’m looking for a verse that explicitly address our need to express thanks for what God does in our lives. And I can’t think of any. I take a quick moment to pray. I hear him say, “Why don’t you go with the original story?” What had prompted this search was that I was reminded of the time when ten lepers were healed by Jesus only one of them returned to give thanks. So I flip through my concordance to search for the word “leper.” And none of the verse references listed point to this event. In frustration, just before giving up, I pray, “Lord, you know where that story’s located. Can you tell me?” And I hear, “Try Luke 17.”

Really? That easy? Is that really the voice of God? With a half-skeptical heart and a half-believing heart I flip over to the Gospel of Luke, the seventeenth chapter. I see a half a page of red letters (i.e. the spoken words of Jesus while on Earth). I think, “This ain’t it. It wasn’t the Lord.”

A few moments later, I can’t shake the feeling that it was the voice of the Lord. I try again. This time, instead of scanning the page, I decide to read. And that’s when I see, at the top of the page: “The ten lepers healed.” (You see, my Cambridge Bible doesn’t have section headings. It only has page headers, at the top of each page.) I let out a guffaw. I read on. And there it is:

“And as he entered into a certain village, there met him ten men that were lepers, which stood afar off: and they lifted up their voices, and said, Jesus, Master, have mercy on us” (Luke 17.12-13).

Leave a Reply

Categories

