Posted by: raddestnerd | August 5, 2008

The X-Files: It Made Me Believe

I was a sporadic viewer of “The X-Files” when it was on TV in the 90’s; I was too young to enjoy the creepy nature of the show. But I did see the first film, “The X-Files: Fight The Future,” and I became a mild fan.

Which brings us to the follow-up film, “The X-Files: I Want To Believe.” I was looking forward to this film, wondering why 20th Century Fox wasn’t marketing the wazoo out of this property with its built-in fan-base, when my friends who had already seen it said that it was very disappointing. Unfeigned, I lowered my expectations, and went to my local AMC theater to see for myself.

It’s been a little over a week since seeing the film and I want to see it again. Now. In theaters. Why? I want to satiate my curiosity. There are subtleties in the film I have yet to uncover.

Here’s what I liked about the film: They didn’t sacrifice the character moments. They left the uncomfortable silences as that: uncomfortable silences. No music to tell us what emotion to feel. They didn’t dumb it down. They didn’t have an explain-it-all session where a character explains everything that happened, nor did we have the villain confess to the hero why he did what evils he committed. They left it to us to figure it out as the story unfolded. There were no explosions. Not a single explosion! Thank you! It kept everything more plausible.

This film traded “action” and “explosions” for a conflict of ideas. Of belief or unbelief. Of staying together or pulling apart. Of giving into darkness or holding on to the light.

But with all the negative reviews, I’m afraid the third film installment in “The X-Files” series may revert back to the “check your brain in at the door” typical “summer blockbuster” fair.

For my money, “I Want To Believe” is a superior film to “Fight The Future.” And “I Want To Believe” is one of the more enjoyable/refreshing films I have seen in a long while. Sci-fi or no sci-fi. “The X-Files” or no “X-Files.”

PS. This film deals with the prophetic. At many points, it is a highly accurate portrayal. True to real life. Which makes the film all the more compelling. Yet, it also contains many inaccuracies. (But, it’s okay. It’s a movie, not a textbook.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

