Posted by: raddestnerd | June 10, 2009

Which Bible Translation Reads the Fastest?

I preach out of the TNIV, because most of the people I share with read out of the NIV, so it’s the closest. (I feel the TNIV is a better translation than the NIV, especially for Millenials’ ears who make up the people I share with.) Yet, in my personal study I find myself oscillating between the various English translations of the Bible. Lately I’m reading the KJV and it reads fast. The down side: Some crazy old words I can’t understand, that I need to use the context to guess at the meaning. The up side is that I’m plowing through. (Trying to read the Bible in 90 days.)

Any suggestions on which is the best balance between speed and comprehension? I think the KJV just flows with all those and’s every where instead of a “.” and no quotation marks. Maybe the NASB? But, I can’t find my copy at the moment.

Responses

  1. Hmmm…..interesting question you pose Ronald. I’m am really not exposed to enough translations to have a good base from which to answer your query.

    However, the thing that comes first to my heart is that between speed and comprehension, the latter is definitely the more significant. So, maybe a simple answer would be what translation, when you do read it with speed of any kind, leaves the Lord’s word clearly deposited in your heart to take root and grow?

    For me–with my limited exposure to translations—the answer would be the New Living Translation, although I find the Amplified Bible a close second.

    Food for thought 🙂

  2. NLT! Now that’s a refreshing answer! I think your reasoning here is really good. 🙂

    Cindy M. said:

    So, maybe a simple answer would be what translation, when you do read it with speed of any kind, leaves the Lord’s word clearly deposited in your heart to take root and grow?

  3. I find the NLT(se) to be a good read. My favorite might be the REB.


Leave a Reply

Categories

