Posted by: raddestnerd | June 18, 2009

Going UP To Jesus

An interesting tweet came across my way via @firstshowing

RT @UncompletedWork Pixar flies an employee w/ DVD of UP to hospital rm of 10 yr old with cancer. She dies 7 hrs later. http://bit.ly/BaWFD

It’s a very moving story. It is very heroic what Pixar did for the little girl. Yet, that is the best that this world can offer us. A little comfort. A brief moment of happiness before we die. A moment which is, and then gone like mist.

I hope there was someone who could offer that girl more than comfort. Someone who could tell her that she has a place waiting for her once she steps through the door of eternity. Reserved for her, purchased with the price of blood — the blood of Jesus, the “Passover Lamb” who took away her sin.

I still remember the day I woke up in the hospital from my seizure, in March 2006. My eyes coming into focus. Bright hospital lights above me. My cousin hovering above me. She had come to see me. (She is a doctor.) I said, “Hey, it’s Nancy.” What is she doing here? I thought.

“You had a seizure,” she said.

Oh my God I’m dying. I’m really going to die. Then a rush of adrenaline with the realization: I’m going to Jesus in a few moments! Then a sudden rush of sadness for my family who will be bereft of me.

Then: “You’re not going to die. It’s not your time. You have much to do for me on earth.”

The sheer thrill of that moment will always be with me. That moment of anticipating my going to Jesus.

Remember him—before the silver cord is severed,
and the golden bowl is broken;
before the pitcher is shattered at the spring,
and the wheel broken at the well,

and the dust returns to the ground it came from,
and the spirit returns to God who gave it.

Ecclesiastes 12.6-7 (TNIV)

Responses

  1. WOW Ronald! A powerful testimony! Thank you for sharing it. The Lord moves in mysterious ways. Yet, they are so beautiful. Amen.

  2. Thank you. God is awesomecrazy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

