Posted by: raddestnerd | April 17, 2010

What I Learned From Elizabeth

Virgin Mary portrayed by Olivia Hussey "Jesus of Nazareth" (1977)

“And Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit, and she exclaimed with a loud cry, ‘Blesssed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! And why is this granted to me that the mother of my Lord should come to me? …. And blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of what was spoken to her from the Lord’ ” (Luke 1:41b-42, 45 ESV).

1. It was important for God to find a woman of purity, character, and faith to raise the Son of God, and so Mary was chosen.  Motherhood, is a most sacred task.  A mother can shape the character and life of a human being — no, a mother does.  She always does, whether for good or for ill.

1a. Inasmuch as God rescues and completely restores sinners, still it was Mary of Nazareth who was chosen to raise the Son of God.  We, too, would be wise to keep ourselves pure in the midst of a corrupt generation and to live our lives by wisdom, like Mary mother of Jesus.

2. Mary’s faith is an incredible faith, because she believed that God will do what he said.  And I’m not sure that I have a faith like hers.  I’m not sure that I 100% of the time believe that God will do what he says.  But, I want to believe.  If not 100% of the time, then at least in the key moments of my life — so that I can be used of God.

Responses

  1. You know Ronald, I have always admired Elizabeth for the AMAZING faith she had. She never once questioned Mary and what God had told her. She simply believed God. And when John the Baptist jumped in her womb at the presence of Mary pregnant with his Savior, Elizabeth never once claimed it was just an ‘active’ baby. She knew the baby in her womb jumped at the presence of the Savior. She knew, because the baby in her womb was also given to her by God under ‘impossible’ circumstances.

    I know what it is to want to believe God will always do what He said He’ll do 100% of the time, but yet to struggle. I find myself at times saying “Lord I believe, help my unbelief”. I believe this life that God gives us here on earth is a journey of faith~constantly growing and changing. Sometimes we do better with it than others.

    I remember once years ago, the Lord asking me to ‘step out’ for Him with something. He said I was to be ‘Esther’ for Him and that I would find ‘favor with the King’ I remember the journey there and the moment right before I was to ‘go before the king’ so to speak. I was sitting in my car, and I was so afraid I couldn’t stop shaking. I remember asking the Lord, ‘Is this what Esther felt like before she went before the king?’ The Lord never really answered me on that one, He just said to go forward, shaking like a leaf. And I did and He was faithful. The favor I had that day was beyond my wildest dreams.

    The whole thing reminds me of the followers of Jesus right after He was crucified. Jesus had told them that He would be raised from the dead on the third day, yet they couldn’t get past what they saw with their eyes~His death. But as dark as it all seemed, Sunday sure was a comin’ 🙂

    That’s the hardest part sometimes, walking by faith and not by sight. Yet that is precisely what faith is..’being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see’

    Like I said, faith is a journey that constantly moves and grows with us on our path God sets before us~if we allow it to. The secret to having faith 100% of the time? Haven’t found that one yet. For me, I always try to remind myself that God cannot lie. And if there’s something He’s asked me to do that scares me out of my mind, I’ve learned to just do it afraid. Never once have I found the Lord to be unfaithful in this.

    I suppose I will leave you with a little tidbit the Lord recently gave me to help strengthen my faith. A friend recently gave me a little pocket-sized journal with a picture on the front of a 1940’s woman sitting on the edge of a car. The quote on the front is from Flo Kennedy and says ‘If you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space’ 🙂 God told me He wanted me to take that little journal and write in it all the times I’ve seen Him be faithful to His word. I think the wording He used with me was to write down all the ‘miracles’ I’ve seen Him do. And I’m to continue to add to the list as the years of my life on this earth go on. Then, whenever I need help with my faith, God said to read the journal to remember ALL of the countless times He’d been faithful before.

    May God bless you in your journey with Him, Ronald. And may He help you to ‘strengthen the muscle’ of your faith. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my 36, almost 37, years on this earth, it’s that we never stop learning and growing this side of Heaven~and that includes our faith.

  2. @ Cindy M.

    Coolness! Grazie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

